Testimonials

Overall Rating / 382 Total 1st-Party Reviews

4.8 Out of
5 Stars

The Rose Shenfield

Filter By:
4.0 out of 5 stars
review from Google
- November 24, 2018

Nice atmosphere. Staff friendly. Food good apart from the soup. Very watery and the stilton must have been left out.

Share

4.0 out of 5 stars
review from TripAdvisor
- November 11, 2018

Several visits in and the rose still delivers, the menu for Sunday lunch i hasn’t changed, but why change if it works. Cooking and presentation is good, and VFM

Share

4.0 out of 5 stars
review from TripAdvisor
- November 7, 2018

Really nice breakfast all freshly cooked so it takes a bit longer bit you get a massive pot of tea to keep you going. Book on a saturday no breakfast on a sunday.

Share

5.0 out of 5 stars
review from TripAdvisor
- November 6, 2018

On Saturday 3rd November we visited this pub for dinner, lovely atmosphere as we walked in was shown to our table and asked if we would like drinks, the owner wad very friendly and came over with the menus , very nice selection of food, I had the avocado &prawn tower which was lovely my husband had the calimari also excellent, i had skate for my main beautifully cooked with fresh veg, my friend had ravioli also very good as were all the meals, in fact everything was well cooked fresh and tasty, staff very friendly, it was our first vist although our friends have been before, we would definitely return, the pub was very busy but you were not rushed along it was a very pleasant evening well worth a visit.

Share

5.0 out of 5 stars
review from TripAdvisor
- October 28, 2018

So on a Saturday evening I arrived hoping to book a table of 10 (yes without booking) and was told at first unfortunately not, which I expected.Soon after a lovely barmaid came over to me and said that one table hadn’t arrived and that we could have the area, within the bar side of the venue. The manager then came over to assist moving some tables around & giving us extra tables. Firstly what great service for allowing such a late booking of 10 people for dinner to have a space.The service was spectacular, very quick and thorough. The staff even remembered exactly who ordered what food and did not get a single thing wrong. The lady who served us (unfortunately didn’t get her name) was very funny and helpful, even when we asked what’s the best meat option, we were told she don’t like meat anymore but recommended a dish which went down a treat!!The whole experience was amazing, friendly warm environment!! Couldn’t suggest this venue anymore. Will return very soon!Thank you!

Share

3.0 out of 5 stars
review from TripAdvisor
- October 28, 2018

The building itself is decorated nicely and is welcoming, as are the staff. Prompt service, we enjoyed our starters and couldn’t wait for the main, a Sunday roast in which both of us had ordered a trio of meats. Came out looking spectacular- big Yorkshire, lots of veg and meat. The beef was dry and tough, didn’t have much flavour.The chicken was nicer but there wasn’t much in comparison to the other two And the lamb was awful, both myself and my partner tried it and left it. Also dry but you wouldn’t know it was lamb unless you specifically ordered it. I don’t know if it’s the same Meat used in the individual meat roasts but if It is I’d be even more disappointed. Potatoes and other veg were nice Yorkshire pudding was too crispy and dry. such a shame because Staff were very attentive and pleasant. I hope it’s just a one off as I’ve heard great things about the restaurant, might have to try the dinner menu and see if it’s any better.

Share

5.0 out of 5 stars
review from Google
- October 27, 2018

Really nice food. The service was great, the staff is so friendly. Loved the low ceiling. Very charming place. Would highly recommend.

Share

5.0 out of 5 stars
review from TripAdvisor
- October 13, 2018

Was passing feeling peckish and found a jewel of a pub. Great food, service and friendly staff. Perfect!Well done all of you.

Share

Sort Reviews by: Date or Rating
Powered by Customer Feedback Centre